Please note this website no longer supports the web browser you use.
We recommend upgrading to the latest Firefox, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Safari.

“Lenna” [2019]



Focusing on the orientation and dispersion of sound images, this spatial musical work was made using multiple audio channels, and only the human voice as a sound source. It represents at once an attempt to encourage the creation of multichannel acoustic contents, and the theoretical and practical development of audiovisual environments.

While sound systems used to be based on such standard formats as mono (1 channel), stereo (2 channels) and surround (5.1 channels), this work adopts the 22.2 channel surround format that was first implemented in the audio production and transmission of NHK’s 8K Satellite Broadcasting programs. It is, however, a format that the average music creator and listener rarely has a chance to use both as a production and a playback environment. In this exhibition, visitors can experience the work via a system that reproduces its sound stage in a different (2-channel) format.

Based on the fact that there still exist only few audio samples that are compatible with the 22.2 channel format, the work was made with the “conception and implementation of acoustic creation and listening environments” in mind. The title was borrowed from the name of a female model whose photo is widely used as a standard test image in the field of image processing. Through the free distribution and Creative Commons licensed secondary use of 22.2 channel sound data, and concrete measures such as experiments with remixing and converting, “Lenna” aims not only to serve as a sample for multichannel works in the future, but also to inspire endeavors that help stimulate the discussion on environments and distribution of new audiovisual formats.

Concept/Voices: HOSOI Miyu
Composer: UEMIZUTARU Chikara
Mixing: KASAI Toshihiko (studio ATLIO), HASUO Misaki
Mastering: KAZAMA Moe (studio ATLIO)
Assistant: IIZUKA Akihiro (studio ATLIO)
3D Audio Design: HASUO Misaki
3D Sound System: KUBO Jiro (Acoustic Field Inc.)



Related Information

Please make an online reservation for the session “Lenna” here on “Open Space 2021: New Flatland.” (“e-tix DATA FARM”)

It takes about 15 minutes for each session and visitors who can experience this installation, one at a time. Thus the number of visitors is limited. Please make a reservation online in advance. Please choose the session time in the day you will visit.
The reservation starts 7 days prior to the experience date. We ask that persons to whom the following apply refrain from experiencing the installation.
・Persons getting drunk
・Persons feeling ill or just unwell
・Wheelchair users
・12 years old and younger
・Persons suffering from nyctophobia and claustrophobia
・Persons with difficulty expressing their intentions when they need an emergency stop.

Video documentation by the artist

List of Works