Symposium/Luigi NONO and Prometeo

Prometeo--Tragedia dell'ascolto

Masterwork of Luigi NONO's later years, drawing on motifs from the Greek myth of Prometheus, with a libretto by philosopher Massimo CACCIARI composed from texts by HESIOD, AESCHYLUS, HOLDERLIN and BENJAMIN, and spatial acoustics by the Experimentalstudio der Heinrich-Strobel-Stiftung des Sudwestfunks Freiburg. Initially conceived in a form closer to a traditional opera, it ultimately eschewed the visual to become a "Tragedy of Listening."
The overall framework is structured in five movements called "isolas" [islands]. Premiered at the 1984 Venice Biennale in a giant boat-shaped space (design: Renzo PIANO) installed within San Lorenzo in Florence. Amended in 1985.

Luigi NONO (1924-90)

Italian composer. Together with BOULEZ and STOCKHAUSEN, a central figure in the landscape of post-WWII European avantgarde music. Noted for his synthesis of radical political thought and new musical techniques, he left behind a large repertory of powerful and hauntingly beautiful musical works.

Born 1935 in Stuttgart. Composer. Studied composition under Luigi NONO. Works include [[temA]], [[Salut fur Caudwell]] and the opera [[Matchstick Girl]].
Born 1931 in Oita. Architect. Many internationally recognized works, such as the Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) and Barcelona Olympic Sports Hall. Writings include ISOZAKI Arata no Shigoto-jutsu [The Workstyles of ISOZAKI Arata] (Okokusha: Tokyo).
Born 1957 in Kobe. Economist and social historical thinker; Associate Professor at Kyoto University. Writings include Kozo to Chikara [Structure and Power] (Keiso Shobo: Tokyo) and Rekishi no Owari to Seikimatsu no Sekai [The End of History and the World at Fin de Siecle] (Shogakukan: Tokyo).
Born 1958 in Fukuoka. Musicologist; Associate Professor at Tokyo University. Known for his multifaceted studies on 20th century music. Writings include Ferruccio Busoni (Misuzu Shobo: Tokyo) and Daisan Teikoku to Ongakuka-tachi [Musicians and the Third Reich] (Ongaku-no-Tomo-sha: Tokyo).
Special thanks to:
Akiyoshidai International Art Village
Archivio Luigi Nono
Casa Ricordi
Backleft rightTo Contents Menu